• Preview

Header Description image

  • 48th Foundation Anniversary
  • 37th Annual General Membership Assembly
  • District III Board of Director Election
  • Medical and Dental Mission
Feature 1

Pre-Membership Seminar

Feature 1

Power Interruption Schedule


Feature 1 Feature 1
Feature 1 Feature 1


Welcome to our website!

Oriental Mindoro Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ORMECO, Inc.) is a non-stock, non-profit, service-oriented rural electric cooperative, duly organized under existing Philippine laws, rules and regulation. The National Electrification Administration (NEA) divided ORMECO coverage area –the province of Oriental Mindoro – into seven (7) districts namely: District I – consisting of the municipalities of Baco, San Teodoro and Puerto Galera; District II – City of Calapan; District III – municipalities of Naujan and Victoria; District IV – municipalities of Socorro and Pola; District V – municipalities of Pinamalayan and Gloria; District VI – municipalities of Bansud and Bongabong; and District VII – Roxas, Mansalay and Bulalacao. Its mission is to provide its member-consumers with reasonable rates and reliable electric service and visions to be a model electric cooperative in service delivery, member-consumer welfare, process standards and renewable energy utilization in the Philippines by 2020.

The history of ORMECO, Inc. dates back to the issuance of Memorandum Order No. 395 dated September 1970 by then President Ferdinand E. Marcos, which paved the way to the establishment and organization of the Provincial Electric Cooperative Team (PECT) on March 12, 1971. The PECT was in charge of promoting, assisting and undertaking the feasibility study on November 12, 1972, of the fifteen towns of the whole province, only towns of Baco, San Teodoro, Calapan, Naujan and Victoria were approved to comprise ORMECO.

After the Board of Directors were organized, the Articles of Incorporation was signed and registered in the presence of then Secretary of Natural Resources Jose J. Leido, Jr., Governor Alfonso Umali, NEA Deputy Administrator Elisea C. Tirona, PECT, and heads of Municipal, Province and National Offices, ORMECO was brought into being the first electric cooperative in the province utilizing a portion of the gymnasium of the present day Oriental Mindoro National High School as its first headquarters on February 16, 1973.

To gain a better understanding of the complexities of the ORMECO organization and its operations, it is necessary to look back to its origins and the concomitant struggles that it went through all these years – events that helped transform and mold it into the stable institution that is now. read more...